## WE LIVED A GENEALOGICAL NEWSLETTER OF NEW BRUNSWICK SOURCES

\_\_\_\_\_

## MADAWASKA COUNTY FORMATION OF PARISHES

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

**Madawaska County** was formed in 1873 from the upper portion of Victoria County. Pre-1850, they were both part of Carleton County, and pre-1832, all three were part of York County. Thus for pre-1873 records one must look in other counties as the dates indicate.

Madawaska County lands were originally not assigned to any Parishes, but was unassigned land in York County. It was set off as part of Kent Parish in 1821 from these unassigned lands (Included everything above the Wakefield line of that date, so would include all of Wicklow, Aberdeen as well as all of Victoria and Madawaska Counties.) Then in Carleton County (ca. 1831-1833), and still later in Victoria County (1844), and finally in 1873, became Madawaska County on its own, with three parishes.

**Baker Brook Parish** - established in 1929

Clair Parish - 1900 set off from Saint-François Parish

Lac-Baker Parish - established in 1938

**Madawaska Parish\*** - 1833, erected in Carleton County, included everything north of Perth and Grand Falls until 1850, when St. Basile and St Leonard were set off; and in 1877, St Francis, St. Hilaire and St. Jacques were set off; and included -

Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes Parish - set up in 1946.

Rivière-Verte Parish - set up in 1935

Saint-André Parish - established 1913

Sainte-Anne Parish - 1877 erected from parts of Saint-Léonard and Saint-Basile Parishes

Saint Parish - 1870 from Madayasaka Parish in Victoria Courmuch as at present le

**Saint-Basile Parish\*** - 1850 from Madawaska Parish in Victoria Co; much as at present, but did include a portion of Sainte-Anne Parish until 1877

**Saint-François Parish** - 1877 erected from Madawaska Parish, and included Clair Parish until 1900.

Saint-Hilaire Parish - 1877 erected from Madawaska Parish

Saint-Jacques Parish - 1877 erected from Madawaska Parish

Saint-Joseph Parish - 1929 erected from Madawaska Parish

**Saint-Léonard Parish\*** - set off in 1850, in Victoria County, and included most of the present Lorne & Drummond Parishes {which remained in Victoria County} until 1853, and part of Sainte-Anne Parish until 1877.